Sunday, April 13, 2014

Blog Tour: Gift Of The Pheonix by Donna Cook - Review+Giveaway!

gift of phoenix tour

Gift of the PhoenixGift of the Phoenix When three strangers are brought together by the discovery of a common enemy, they must fight to keep the magic of the Phoenix out of dangerous hands before their world is destroyed forever. The Three must learn to unite in spite of what separates them, and unlock the magic of three stones that seem to harm as much as they help. But uniting will not be easy for Nicolai, the simple peasant with a powerful secret; Marcellus, the warrior prince who’s no longer heir to the throne; and Corren, a gifted wizard whose ambitions threaten to ruin them all. Full of magic, mystery, and a touch of romance, Gift of the Phoenix is an epic fantasy that takes the reader deep into the heart of a wondrous world and the three men destined to defend it.






My Rating- 4 stars!

My Review! -
What to say? I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It's not quite what I thought it was going to be, I don't know why but I was thinking more like modern times and I don't know but either way it's pretty freakin awesome.

Dislikes -
  -My main dislike is that it is nearly 600 pages long. The thing is it's broken into 3 parts and each part consists of basically a full book in it's own right, so that you feel like you are reading 3 books rather than 1. I honestly think it would have been better to be separated into three separate books or at least call it what it is an omnibus of THREE books, not one extremely long book. While I don't mind long books personally when the first book in a series or of a new debut author is that long it kinda turns me off because I'm thinking what if this sucks and I waste all this time to read this super long book and don't like it. That's not the case with this book I really enjoyed it but still.
    - Corren - I didn't hate him but he was definitely one of my least favorite characters.
    - It's long and detailed and sometimes I got bored. I would read one or two good interesting intoxicating chapters and then I would find myself skimming chapters. This also has to do with POVs I found myself enjoying some allot more than others, again I didn't like Corren very much and part of this was because his chapters were boring for the most part even when mildly interesting things were going on.
  - The stones - I'm sorry but I kept imagining big round cartoonish stones like from old video games and I don't know especially in the first part of the book I couldn't take it seriously.
  -Insta love - Okay there is a slight case of insta love in this book but again I want to point out that if you dislike a book and it's characters you hate insta love but occasionally, in my opinion, when you love a book and the character the insta love doesn't bother you as much, you know?
  - Weird magical words.

Likes -
   -Nicolai and Marcellus- I can't choose between them! I loved them both equally and I really really loved them. They are just awesome characters and gah I just loved them.
   - The world - There is definitely some great world building in this book even if at some points it's a little excessive. I loved the mid-evil feel, you know me I love knights and kings and sword fighting all that good stuff and magic so my favorite books always have both and this book does. Not to mention the whole Phoenix part, I love fantasy books that have the Phoenix they are so magical and awesome and I love that this book was kinda all about that. Also they're are faeries and imps and plenty of other magical creatures so it's definitely good in the fantasy aspect!
   - All the fantasy - This has pretty much everything I look for in a fantasy book, seriously.
   - The plot - Again I just loved the plot of this book and while it was long and dragged in places it was still good and interesting and I never considered stopping or quitting I always still wanting to continue with the story.
   -The writing - While it is a bit slow and descriptive there are also gems of some really beautiful writing in their. I don't mean that the rest is bad it's perfectly fine I'm just saying some of it is really really good, okay?

Overall - It was really good, I feel like it could have been great it almost was but in my opinion the length of it kinda turned me off from the beginning. If you love fantasy and the myth of the phoenix it is definitely worth the read, in a way it's kinda everything I wanted Falling Kingdoms to be, you know?

Recommended for - Fans of fantasy. Fans of Falling Kingdoms and Cinda Williams Chima.


More blog tour stuff -
  Praise for Gift of the Phoenix “An incredibly impressive book that grips you from the very start. There is plenty of action in the story, some wonderful characters and magical, atmospheric settings. Donna has created a fascinating realm in this story which, even if you don’t consider yourself a fantasy fan, you’ll definitely enjoy.” – Excerpt of Stephanie Dagg’s review at Books Are Cool. “As an avid reader of fantasy, I often encounter boring or overused plotlines—this was neither! With a fresh new take on fantasy adventure, Cook constructs an enchanting world of magic, kingdoms, rebirth, and death.” – Excerpt a review by Artemis at Fantasy Book Lovers Unite “Gift of the Phoenix reminds me of a mix of Paolin’s Eragon and Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings, but stands on its own as a unique fantasy-adventure. Cook creates a magic system that is intricate and unique, which can be hard to do in a genre littered with magic. The story is very complex, and yet very easy to follow… layers upon layers of intertwined plots that all culminate to a fantastic ending. I would recommend this book to anyone of any age.” – Excerpt of a review by Will Wortner at Zero2Fiction

About the Author - Donna Cook is an Arizona native transplanted to Boise, Idaho, where she is delighting in the change of scenery. When she’s not writing she spends her time chasing the kids, exploring delicious eateries downtown, and dancing with her talented husband. Her fantasy adventure, Gift of the Phoenix has won several awards, including Semifinalist in the Kindle Book Review Book of the Year Awards, and Notable Read in the Shelf Unbound/Half Price Books Indie Book of the Year competition. It was also nominated for the Whitney Award, which recognizes LDS writers. She’s currently working on the sequel to Gift of the Phoenix.

Tour Giveaway $25 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash Ends 4/31/14
  a Rafflecopter giveaway

4 comments:

  1. Hi, thank you so much for hosting for taking the time to read and review my book. I appreciate all your thoughtful comments. I'm glad you enjoyed it. :) I haven't read Cinda Williams Chima yet, but Warrior Heir has been on my list. I hadn't heard of Falling Kingdoms but I'll check it out. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Welcome! You should definitely read Warrior Heir especially if you like your book!

      Delete
  2. I DO like my book! LOL! I'll have to get a copy of Warrior Heir and add it to the teetering stack on my nightstand. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Haha! =) And yes you really should! =)

      Delete