Friday, January 16, 2015

Review: All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Song Of The Moment- So Far Away by Red

18460392All The Bright Places
by Jennifer Niven
Release date: January 6th, 2015
Genre: YA Contemporary
Goodreads Link
Description -
The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.

Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning!

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

My Rating:

4.5 Stars: I really really loved it/it made me bawl like a baby


Review:
First, I have to say is that this book is one of the best contemporaries I've ever read, not only does it have great writing and characters but the story is just told so well and I don't think it's one I'll ever forget.

This story is obviously tragic, but it's also funny, and hopefully, and yeah, it's probably going to break your heart but only after it's convinced you that nothing in the world can be as great as Violet and Finch. This book is going to teach you things, important things, and things you didn't know you wanted to know, it's going to make you laugh, and cry, and everything in between.

I fell for Theodore Finch, basically from page one and I loved him and I hated him and basically I felt everything for him that Violet did. I loved Violet too, not as much as I loved Finch, but she's still a really good three-dimensional character. And mostly, I loved them together. They're widely different and both kind of crazy and broken, which makes it all the more great and heart breaking.

I'm not going to say it's perfect...I'm sorry....please don't throw rotten fruit at me! I had a few *minor* problems with it. First, I hated Finch's parents...I get they have to be this way and this is just the way they are and it's not even "classic absence of parents in YA", but I hated them. I really really hate them. Also, and I admit this could totally be me being dense or dumb or just plain missing something, but I was very confused by the whole "Asleep" thing. Finch is constantly talking about staying "Awake" and how the last time he was "Asleep" it was for over a month...am I missing something here? Was it explained and I didn't see it? Because I'm still confused about it...

Overall, this is an amazing, sad, heartbreakingly beautiful book that I highly suggest everyone read. It deals with everything from death to mental illness to truly being Awake and living. Though, if you're prone to crying from heartbreak, do have tissues handy!

This book leaves you like:

Would I Recommend This? Yes.
Who To? People who like having their hearts ripped out of their chests and then needing massive amounts of chocolate if they every wish to be okay again!
Will I read more from this author(or series)? Duh.


8 comments:

  1. I won't read this review just yet, but I will when I've read the book. It's great that you loved it though, since it bodes so well for me.. ;)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Haha. I understand. Hope you love it too! Also, a tip, have chocolate on stand by to help heal your broken heart once you've finished the book! =)

      Delete
  2. Ahh I've been wanting to read this, but lately I've now been afraid of depressing novels because they break my heart ^_^" Just by reading the synopsis, I'm already interested!! Finch sounds really troubled :o And since this is a depressing book, I have a feeling Finch dies D: (don't tell me if that's true, I'm just guessing lol). I'll be sure to read this soon, but I might do so by 2018 for fear of these kinds of books haha.

    Great review!!! So glad you liked it ^_^

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I understand! Who wants to purposefully break their heart by reading a book, right? I do suggest reading it once you're ready but have a nice fluffy contemporary nearby to help you forget the pain afterwards! =)

      Delete
  3. I agree with basically everything you've said. I fell in love with Finch from the start. I grew to like Violet too, but it took longer. Finch's parents are absolutely full of fail. But, to me it made sense, in context. I mean, how could present, decent parents be THAT clueless? As for the "awake" thing, no, I didn't quite get it either. I think maybe it was him slowly losing his grip on stability. Like, when he was "asleep", that was him disappearing, and being out of control, perhaps even manic?

    Dude, now I am near tears again. GAH, this book!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah, I totally get that his parents couldn't have been any other way I just hated them so much!

      Yeah, I just never got if it was something real him being "Asleep" or like a metaphor or something? Like, it's not a big deal but I would have liked to understand it better.

      I'm sorry! I hope you have chocolate on hand, that makes the pain better! I agree though, I can't think of this book and not grow teary-eyed. =(

      Delete
  4. I'm so glad that you loved it, and I'm really glad that I chose this one as my free audiobook!
    Kim @ Divergent Gryffindor

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh yay, I hope you enjoy it! make sure to have tissues near by just in case. ;)

      Delete