Thursday, April 16, 2015

ARC Review: Finding Paris by Joy Preble

Song Of The Moment- Basket Case by Green Day
18530518Finding Paris
by Joy Preble
Expected Release date: April 21, 2015
How I got it - Review copy from Edelwiess
Genre: YA Contemporary
Goodreads Link
Description -
A page-turning, evocative novel for fans of THIRTEEN REASONS WHY and SPEAK, about a girl who must follow a trail of mysterious clues to discover what happened to her sister.

Sisters Leo and Paris Hollings have only ever had each other to rely on. They can’t trust their mother, who hops from city to city and from guy to guy, or their gambler stepfather, who’s moved them all to Las Vegas. It’s just the two of them: Paris, who’s always been the dreamer, and Leo, who has a real future in mind—going to Stanford, becoming a doctor, falling in love.

But Leo isn’t going anywhere yet… until Paris ditches her at the Heartbreak Hotel Diner, where moments before they had been talking with physics student Max Sullivan. Outside, Leo finds a cryptic note from Paris—a clue. Is it some kind of game? Where is Paris, and why has she disappeared?

When Leo reluctantly accepts Max’s offer of help, the two find themselves following a string of clues through Vegas and beyond. But the search for the truth is a not a straight line. And neither is the path to secrets Leo and Max hold tightly.

I received this book from the publisher through Edelweiss to review honestly

My Rating:
4.5/5 Stars


Initial Reaction:


Review:
So, I'm not sure exactly what I was expecting from this book but either way it blew those expectations out of the water. This was just such a good book and I don't know how to review it because I don't want to give away anything because I feel like going in not expecting much out of it is part of why I loved it so much; it wowed me.

So, the book starts off with Leo and her sister Paris going to the Heartbreak Hotel Diner after Paris breaks up with her boyfriend. Paris dares Leo to go over and talk to the cute boy a couple tables over(Max Sullivan) Leo brings him pie and they all get to talking. That's when Paris goes outside and never comes back setting the stage for her scavenger hunt of sorts. Leaving clues all over Vegas for Leo telling her to come and find her.

I really don't know where to start with this review so let's just jump in.

A Few Of My Favorite Things:

Leo - Not only do I love her name, but I loved her character and her voice. She's kind of cynical but kind of not, she wants so much from the world but isn't sure she deserves it. She is a really complex character and that comes out beautifully through the writing.

The romance - I'm sure we all know how tricky romance can be in a book that takes place over only a few nights, but this book doesn't even verge on insta love. It's all very slow and almost awkward, very reserved, but there just enough for the reader to fall for it.

The mystery aspect - I wasn't expecting this to feel so much like a mystery book, but it did. You never quite know what's going on, you have guesses, and still it manages to be at least a little shocking at the end, even when you've figured it out.

Deeper issues - Without going into details this book does handle some darker things, it's not all just a road trip and scavenger hunt, it's definitely darker than it may first appear.

Road trip - It does have a road trip aspect which I always love, while at the same time it's not a happy go lucky road trip book.

A Few Of My Mot So Favorite Things:

Paris - Don't get me wrong I loved Paris, I just wish she'd been in the book a little more. I think she was one of the best characters, but we only get to see her in a few parts and in Leo's memories. Especially towards the end as everything gets more frantic and then kind of slows down, I wanted to see more of Paris. In a way, this book is all about sisters but in a way that's kind of pushed off to the side too.

Max - Max was a very interesting character, a few times he kind of flip-flopped, acting completely different from how he did through the rest of the book which was kind of confusing and off-putting. I also didn't completely understand his secret stuff, I mean I understood it but it just felt awkward and almost unneeded, it didn't make the impact it was supposed I think.

A lack of emotion - Throughout most the book there is kind of a lack of emotion. I didn't even notice it until I finished the book and once everything is revealed it makes sense, but I like to FEEL all the characters emotions and there was a definite lack of that.

Overall: I thought this was a really really good book that hits you right in the feels. It's very fast paced to which adds to the feeling of urgency that makes up the book. I do wish there'd been more with Paris, and the very end, after the climax, was a tad disappointing, I think it could have made a bigger impact, but I still really liked the book. It's full of very complex characters, pretty badass writing, and a very intriguing plot.

Would I Recommend This? Yes.
To Whom? Let's say fans of Lauren Oliver's Vanishing Girls and E. Lockhart's We Were Liars
Will I read more from this author(or series)? Probably.

What's the last book you read that surprised you, whether you thought you'd love it and hated it or the opposite?

6 comments:

  1. I want to read this :D I actually saw it in Goodreads and I like the cover haha. I'm a little curious as to why Paris would just run off? And Leo sounds like an awesome character :) I'm glad you liked her personality and some aspects of the book, but I'm sort of bummed there was not much emotion in this one, though :< I hate books with minor emotions.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah, I really really loved this one but I wanted to FEEL move from it. =)

      Delete
  2. Oh wow! I have to admit, this book was not on my radar at all. I thought it was just some fluffy romance. But WOW, I really want to read this now! I love a road trip, I love a mystery, and I LOVE an awkward romance ;) Great review, I am definitely going to add this to my (poor overwhelmed) TBR!
    Shannon @ It Starts At Midnight

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yay, I'm glad I brought it to your attention! That's kind of what I was expecting at first too but I decided to give it a shot and I'm so glad I did. =)

      Delete
  3. I've never even heard of this book before, but your review has definitely made me want to read it. Especially since I saw that to fans of Lauren Oliver's Vanishing Girls thing. Which also was the last book to really surprise me. In an awesome way. ;) Great review Shay! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Haha, thanks! Yeah, for some reason it just reminded me a lot of Vanishing Girls, the overall feeling of the book and everything. ;)

      Delete