Friday, May 1, 2015

Pre-Review: Never Always Sometimes by Adi Alsaid


Pre-Review
A pre-review is a new feature here where I post small snippets of my reviews of books that don't come out for months. This is meant mostly to help promote new releases that I won't be posting my full review of until closer to release date. A way to hopefully help build excitement for some of my favorite new releases before I forget why I loved them! Pre-reviews are limited to one paragraph or simply gifs that reveal all my feels.


24338298Never Always Sometimes
by Adi Alsaid
Expected Release date: August 4, 2015
Format: ARC
Genre: YA Contemporary
Goodreads Link

Never date your best friend 
Always be original 
Sometimes rules are meant to be broken 
Best friends Dave and Julia were determined to never be cliché high school kids—the ones who sit at the same lunch table every day, dissecting the drama from homeroom and plotting their campaigns for prom king and queen. They even wrote their own Never List of everything they vowed they'd never, ever do in high school. 
Some of the rules have been easy to follow, like #5, never die your hair a color of the rainbow, or #7, never hook up with a teacher. But Dave has a secret: he's broken rule #8, never pine silently after someone for the entirety of high school. It's either that or break rule #10, never date your best friend. Dave has loved Julia for as long as he can remember. 
Julia is beautiful, wild and impetuous. So when she suggests they do every Never on the list, Dave is happy to play along. He even dyes his hair an unfortunate shade of green. It starts as a joke, but then a funny thing happens: Dave and Julia discover that by skipping the clichés, they've actually been missing out on high school. And maybe even on love.
I received this book from the author to review honestly


Pre-review:

This book is fun and at first glance may appear to be a simple light and fluffy read but it's more than that. The emotions and characters in Never Always Sometimes are extremely, incredibly REAL(and slightly heartbreaking). Feels abounded in this book partly because of the great characters and partly because of the great writing. I thought I had it all figured out half way through, but then there were twists! Twists that made me FEEL(mostly angry at the author for making me ship so many different people and then kept sinking them). Basically, I loved this, you should read this.

Recommended to: Fans of Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell for the emotions. Feeling the feels only reminded me of the way that book made me feel.

Full review to come!

What do you think of this new feature? Be honest!

4 comments:

  1. ooh twists in this one? I am curious! I wasn't so sure about picking up this one because I wasn't all that impressed with his debut novel, but this one sounds like a lot of fun and has a lot of potential.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I love this feature! I hate having to wait closer to the release date before I can truly push people to read a book, and I always have my mini post-reading thoughts posted on my Goodreads page.

    A light contemporary... with twists? *strokes non-existent beard* I'm intrigued. But I am scared of the sinking ships part... My shipper heart can't handle that! Deadly Darlings

    ReplyDelete
  3. First of all I love your new feature. For example this one is totally new to me. I'm so glad that it's more than just a fluffy story. I need depth in books to enjoy them fully. Great review :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. I love this feature! I always love seeing sneakpeeks about books before actual reviews, I do a similar feature on my own blog inspired by Jamie's "Save The Date" feature. :)

    This book has been on my radar since, omg, I don't even know, since I heard of it a couple months ago. :D It sounds so good, I love the cover too. I love that there are multiple ships! Even though I'm sure the endgame is obvious. Haha. And I like that it's heartbreaking (I love heartbreaking aspects). I'm so excited for it.

    Great work.<3

    ReplyDelete