Monday, August 3, 2015

#Review Made You Up by Francesca Zappia

Song Of The Moment- Backseat Serenade by All Time Low

22836606Made You Up
by Francesca Zappia
Release date: May 19th 2014
Format: ARC
Genre: YA Contemporary
Goodreads Link
Description -
Reality, it turns out, is often not what you perceive it to be—sometimes, there really is someone out to get you. Made You Up tells the story of Alex, a high school senior unable to tell the difference between real life and delusion. This is a compelling and provoking literary debut that will appeal to fans of Wes Anderson, Silver Linings Playbook, and Liar.
Alex fights a daily battle to figure out the difference between reality and delusion. Armed with a take-no-prisoners attitude, her camera, a Magic 8-Ball, and her only ally (her little sister), Alex wages a war against her schizophrenia, determined to stay sane long enough to get into college. She’s pretty optimistic about her chances until classes begin, and she runs into Miles. Didn’t she imagine him? Before she knows it, Alex is making friends, going to parties, falling in love, and experiencing all the usual rites of passage for teenagers. But Alex is used to being crazy. She’s not prepared for normal. 
Funny, provoking, and ultimately moving, this debut novel featuring the quintessential unreliable narrator will have readers turning the pages and trying to figure out what is real and what is made up.
*I received this book from the publisher through Edelweiss to review honestly*

My Rating:


Review:

Soooo...this book. It's...amazing. Brilliant. Full of excellent writing. Full of FEELS and some of the best characters EVER and basically, I loved it. Is that good enough? Review over. All you have to know if you MUST read this book. Okay?

I'm sure many people have reviewed this book much better than I but here's a few of my thoughts.

Basically, this book tackles some tough subjects and situations. There's obviously Alex, who's trying her hardest to deal with and control her schizophrenia. There's Miles who doesn't have the best home life to start with plus some of his own problems and whatnot. And it handles them all so well! I won't claim to know much about schizophrenia, because I don't and this is the first book I've read with it, but I thought it was handled very well, very realistically. This isn't a book where every little thing is tied up perfectly in the end, because it's not a fairytale, it's a book about very real characters, with very real problems.

A Few Of My Favorite Things:

- Alex. Alex is one of the best, most realistic, most badass characters I've ever read. She never sees herself as damaged, she never complains about this situation she's in though no one would really blame her for being full of self pity. She's not perfect, she does pity herself sometimes, and she's not always the nicest person, but she's so real. So human. And I loved her. She's such an amazing, inspiring, awesome character. I mean, with the freeing of the lobsters alone I knew, if she was real, we'd be besties.

"Dear Asshole: Thank you for keeping your word and believing me. It was more than I expected. Also, I'm sorry you were inconvenienced by my gluing your locker shut at the beginning of this year. However, I am not sorry that I did it, because it was a lot of fun. Love, Alex.” 

- Ro-ro-romance. Awwwww. It's like one of the sweetest ships, I swear. Not all good all the time, of course, but awesome. You know, it didn't solve all the problems and suddenly make everything better when they got together, but still, they helped each other so much. And, ship!

- Characters! All the side characters, very important and otherwise, were all so real. This author did an amazing job of capturing the characters on the pages and I loved every minute of it.

- Writing. The writing! I can't even words, it's just amazing. Don't believe me? here you go:

“People say teenagers think they're immortal, and I agree with that. But I think there's a difference between thinking you're immortal and knowing you can survive. Thinking you're immortal leads to arrogance, thinking you deserve the best. Surviving means having the worst thrown at you and being able to continue on despite that. It means striving for what you want most, even when it seems our of your reach, even when everything is working against you.” 


“In a weird way, it felt like he belonged here. He belonged in the land of phoenixes and witches, the place where things were too fantastic to be real.” 


“I didn't have the luxury of taking reality for granted. And I wouldn't say I hated people who did, because that's just about everyone. I didn't hate them. They didn't live in my world. 
But that never stopped me from wishing I lived in theirs.” 

- FEELS. There are so many feels in this book, it's painful, and beautiful, and awesome and you will FEEL it all.

I do have one gripe with this book and it's the whole mystery thing. There's this mystery surrounding the school's scoreboard, the principal, and an old cheerleaders death. I don't know. It kind of just felt like it was there more to give the book a thicker plot than because it was needed. The resolution felt kind of strange and forced and honestly to me it just felt weird and unneeded. I was much happier reading the parts about Alex and Miles and her schizophrenia, I didn't need the mystery too and it just wasn't very interesting in my opinion so much as strange. That's what the one star is missing for, I just felt this whole little plot thing was strange and not as interesting as I would've hoped for.

OVERALL: I really enjoyed this one and I think it's definitely one of those books that everyone should read. The ending didn't completely shatter my heart like I was worried it would but it wasn't all sunshine and rainbows, either, it was just very real. The writing is amazing, as are the characters and their story. Definitely highly recommended.

Would I Recommend This? Yes!
Who To? Anyone who loves YA about mental illness and everyone else too.
Will I read more from this author? Definitely.

4 comments:

  1. My grandma as schizophrenia. I think this book would hit really close to home but I am curious about it. :) Great review!

    Sarah @ One Curvy Blogger

    ReplyDelete
  2. I DO agree about the mystery. The only thing I could think of is that maybe it was kind of to prove to Alex that she wasn't always imagining things? But I agree, I was not very invested in that plot point. But everything else was just SO amazing, that I didn't even care! Fabulous review, I am so glad you enjoyed this one so much too :)
    Shannon @ It Starts At Midnight

    ReplyDelete
  3. Miles and Alex are my new OTP. They are so cute, and their chemistry is perfect. Though yes, the mystery was really weird. I think it was good that the author ADDED a mystery, but the fact that it had to do with the scoreboard was a little random

    AWESOME REVIEW SHAY AND I'M SO GLAD YOU LOVED THIS TOOOOOO :D

    ReplyDelete
  4. This one is on my wish list and I can't wait to read it. Glad that you loved it!

    ReplyDelete